Mounting RTT on JKU

I am studying two different options to mount a GFC Platform RTT to my 2017 Jeep 4-door Rubicon. Thank you in advance for any experience-based insights on the two options.

The options are:

1. Rhino Rack Backbone (without platform)
  2. Maximus 3 (without platform)

My design objectives are simple. I want the tent to be as close to the Jeep’s roof as practical to keep overall height as low as possible. The mounting hardware must be strong enough to endure the mechanical stress and strain of overland travel. Finally, minimal wind noise is preferred.

The Rhino Rack Backbone option is popular and seems to be robust enough to handle the RTT. There are many positive videos and I have talked with real-life users that seem happy with the setup. There is a YouTube by Justn B McBride that shows a very slick set up where there are simply small brackets that bolt between the Rhino Rack top base plates (x6) and the aluminum GFC mounting blocks. There are no cross-bars. I like this option because the tent sits about as low as possible, and when on the highway the air will flow cleanly between the camper bottom and Jeep roof. This should create the least amount of wind noise of the two options.

The Maximus 3 option is attractive primarily due to the strength of the framework. The supporting framework is bolted directly to the Jeep’s roll-bar. This inside framework then bolts directly through the roof to the mounting feet on the roof (x4). With this option the RTT appears to sit a bit higher. Also, the required cross bars will produce wind noise.

Thanks again for any advice. See you on the trail…

1 Like

Seems hard to beat the Justin B McBride setup to me.

1 Like

Agree. This is the route I would go if in your shoes.

I ran over to GFC last week and had my RTT installed. Great.