Aev jt370

After a long wait, my dream rig finally arrived.

It started as a super low mileage (new to me), 2021 JT Rubicon Diesel that I had shipped to AEV for some goodies.

While the vehicle was being built, I started looking for a GFC unit. I did not mind a clean, slightly used within a reasonable diving distance.

I was lucky enough to find Build #3318 up for sale within a two hour drive. I made arrangements with the original owner and drove there today after work.

I have some plans in mind and coming from previous overloaded vehicles, this time around light weight gear will be a priority.

I’ll have some questions as this is my first time with a GFC camper and I’ll tell the build quality is impressive but I do have some concerns with how the tailgate to rear door hatch closes. I can see light from the inside which leads me to believe there will be a lot of dust intrusion. I could be wrong.

5 Likes

Nice rig! WRT to the rear hatch to tailgate - pretty common for folks to need to improvise their own solutions in the corner areas. I drive a Tacoma and had to do same. Enjoy the new machine!

1 Like

Welcome to the AEV family! I’ve got a Prospector XL built on a '22 RAM 3500 Longhorn. Did you opt for the high-capacity springs on your build? Worth considering, depending on what else your build-out will include, since you’ve got the camper on there. They are recommended for people who consistently carry a load of 400-700lbs.

PS - The rig looks sweet!

Thank you.

I sure did order the high capacity springs. I really took my time and researched for a few months. I just had to find the right vehicle and price and here we are now.

I’ve been guilty of doing “too much” on previous builds but this time around staying at or below load capacity is the goal. I want modularity and the ability to easily take off the gear that will not be used unless I’m hitting the trails.