DC power station?

Let me start off by saying I have very little working knowledge of off-grid power solutions. I’m thinking about adding a power station to my build to power/charge lights and electronics as well as a future fridge and possibly an electric blanket or pad. All the power stations I’ve found are expensive and have limited capacity. While solar may be a future addition, I’m not planning to add that right now so I’m looking for something simple, economical, and with enough capacity that I don’t have to stress about running out of power for most trips. I’m also not looking to commit to a full-on dual battery set-up right now.

Enter this gem I found on the internet: 100Ah 12V PowerMax LiFePO4 Battery / 1280Wh Portable Power Station

Does anyone have any hands on experience with one of these?

Looks like it’s made from a Renogy battery and Texas instruments BMS. It’s a one-stop-shop for powering DC stuff with plenty of capacity at a great price. If I wanted to add AC equipment later I could add an inverter. Any smarter folks out there see any pit falls I don’t? I’d need to get some kind of LiFePo4 charger, and maybe even a warmer of some kind to make sure it works at colder temps, but it seems like it checks all my boxes.

Any and all feedback or suggestions of other solutions are much appreciated!

I use a 100ah heated battleborn battery in a National Luna DC25 power pack ( green top) and it works perfectly and does what you’re looking for

Thanks. That looks like a nice setup, but also about 5x the cost of this Dr. prepare setup which is why it almost sounds too good to be true.

I would recommend SOK Batteries. Heres one that has bluetooth and a heater circuit built in. High quality cells, BMS, construction, and is serviceable.

1 Like