Suspension question- need advice!

Hey y’all!

I’m in need of some advice. I’m a novice in regards to suspension. I just got my GFC installed and am looking to upgrade my suspension. I have decided on 3 options and was curious your opinions. I have a 23 DCSB Tacoma Sport.

1. add-a leaf
  2. TRD Lift kit
  3. Dobinsons twin turbo suspension kit, GS59-221 struts, 302 coil springs, 111R leaf springs, GS59-840 rear shocks, leaf springs bushing kit and drive shaft spacer kit-- This a quote from a local shop

Some good discussion here:

You probably don’t need to run a driveshaft spacer unless you are lifting it and need to correct driveshaft angles. I’d install the suspension first and then see if the spacer is needed.

I’d recommend replacing the leaf pack as a long term solution but if you don’t want to go that route at this time a progressive AAL would be a good second option. Bump stops are important too. Replacing the factory bumps with something that has a more progressive feel (superbumps, timbren, Perry parts bumps, or a similar option).

FWIW, I’ve been running a Dakar leaf pack (equivalent to their newer HD pack) and Fox 2.0 remote reservoir shocks in the rear of my Tacoma for almost 10 years now and have been happy with the setup (I added superbumps in 2021 and wish I did it sooner). If I were to rebuild the rear suspension I’d likely look into archive garage leaf packs and their hammer hangers to pair with the fox shocks and aftermarket bump stops. I’m not running a driveshaft spacer or axle shims on my setup.

1 Like

don’t do add-a-leaf. it’s gonna make noise later.
every single one we’ve done add-a-leaf because the customer wants to save some $$ all end up making noise and customers end up replacing the leaf spring.

1 Like

Icon RXT or Archive Garage leafs with hammer hanger and shackle setup.

1 Like