Santa Barbara, CA to Belgrade, MT for install

First post from a lurker.

Tomorrow at 6am I am leaving Santa Barbara, CA to get my GFC installed at the HQ in Belgrade. I am beyond excited, but growing up on the central coast of CA I have little to no experience driving in the snow (once drove in snow in AZ but it was nothing crazy).

I am driving a 22’ stock Tacoma TRD Off-Road long bed

Hoping for some recommendations or must haves for this 17 hour drive that I am splitting into 3 days.

My plan so far:

Leave tomorrow (Sunday) morning at 6am, make it to my buddies house in Las Vegas, spend the night there.

Monday, leave Las Vegas at 6am and start the trek to Salt Lake City. I plan on finding a home depot on my way out of NV to buy either sand bags or gravel bags. Got a tip from a friend that I need something to weigh my bed down once I get into the snowy/icy roads. Hoping to stop in Zion since I’ve never been, but will have to see how conditions are since the reports say lots of snow and I will be taking it easy, driving a reasonable pace.

Tuesday, after staying the night in a motel 6 in SLC, start my journey to Montana. Again, hoping to be able to stop in West Yellowstone but its expected to be pretty snowy and I am planning on driving carefully.

Wednesday, by this time I’ve made it to Belgrade. Planning on staying the night at another motel 6, and maybe hitting a brewery if there are ubers available. Camper gets installed the next morning.

Thursday, leave the motel 6, drive to GFC’s install location in the am and get the camper installed! Either start the drive home and hit any of the spots I might of missed/ didn’t have time for on my way up, or stay an extra 2 days for the Belgrade meet-up.

Any tips for driving in the snow, recommended stops, really any advice you have for before my trip is more than welcomed! Thanks in advance!

1 Like