"Solar Generator" vs Solar to Batteries etc?

Hi All,

I am planning for my upcoming camper instal in June. My goal is to build out my rig in a way that allows me to live out of it while I work as a raft guide for the summer.

I see a lot of folks on here are building out solar systems that go from panels to car/marine batteries and installing inverters etc. My question is what are the pros/cons or benefits to that verse simply buying a “solar generator” like the Goal Zero Yeti that seems to have it all built in already?

Admittedly I am a novice when it comes to anything electrical and could be missing something obvious but I would greatly appreciate any insight/thoughts/feedback.

Cheers and thanks in advance for the help!

I have goal zero yeti 1000x. plugs into the outlet in the truck bed when I am going down the road and I have portable 100 watt solar panel I can set up to top it off when I stop. has worked well. I use it to charge everything, run lights if I want and power up electric skillet or hot water pot. It is all I need.

3 Likes

Batteries are better value if you have space and money/time to set them up. I always did batteries and solar with MPPT until I got the GFC on a truck. I now have the Renogy Phoenix 1000 with a 100w panel. I love that I can just take it out and use it when I need versus it taking up space in the bed.

1 Like

I have 2 100w panels that I have running into the bed and that charges up my solar generators. I also have a portable 140w.
I have the Ecoflow Delta 2 and River 2 in the bed of my truck, and I have a Jackery 1000 inside of the truck that gets charged up while driving. If I park somewhere for a few days, I just alternate batteries as needed.

Biggest drainers are the fridge and Starlink (8hrs a day)

3 Likes

Using what you’ve already got is always best IMHO.